Neil Gaiman
Journal Neil"s Work Cool Stuff & Things About Neil Message Boards Where"s Neil Search MouseCircus.Com FAQs
You are here: Home » Journal
Archives  |  RSS  |  Translations  |  Labels  |  Tumblr

Saturday, February 09, 2002

This just in from Inscriptions' (and the New York Times Online's) Jade Walker. Alas, I don't have time to go in and fix all the web-links, but if you go to http://www.inscriptionsmagazine.com/Engravers.html you'll find all the links in place. There should be lots of good stuff in the list to go and look at, which is why I'm sticking up the whole thing and not just blinking bemusedly and mumbling something about it being an honour just to be nominated.

Those of you who seriously want to be writers could do much worse than pay your $5 and subscribe to online Inscriptions, filled with lots of good information not to mention interviews and things...

You've heard of the Oscars, the Emmys, the Pulitzers and the Webbys.
Well, for the second year in a row, Inscriptions Magazine is
sponsoring the 2001 Engraver Awards
(http://www.inscriptionsmagazine.com/Engravers.html) to honor the
achievements of writers, editors and publishers working online and in
print. The nominations have been culled into a ballot, and the
winners will now be chosen by "The Academy" of 5,000+ Inscriptions
subscribers.

Congratulations! You received a nomination. Winners will be announced
online in the Feb. 18 issue. Each winner will receive a year's
subscription to Inscriptions, with credit on our Supportive Scribes
page; a 2001 Inscriptions Engraver Award graphic for Web sites, a
2001 Inscriptions Engraver Award coffee mug and four weeks of free
advertising in the Inscriptions e-zine or Web site.
_____________________________________________

The 2001 Inscriptions Engraver Awards Nominees

Categories:

* Favorite Online Writer

Moira Allen (http://www.writing-world.com/books/moira.html)
Paula Guran (http://www.writers.com/paulaguran.htm)
Christina Hamlett (http://www.absolutewrite.com/site/christina.htm)
Steve Outing (http://www.poynter.org/faculty/souting.htm)
MJ Rose (http://www.mjrose.com)

* Favorite Online Columnist

Madeleine Begun Kane (http://www.madkane.com)
Will Leitch (http://www.nineplanetsmag.com)
Cindy Vallar (http://www.cindyvallar.com)
Karen Wiesner (http://www.eclectics.com/karenwiesner/)

* Favorite Weblogger

Neil Gaiman (http://www.neilgaiman.com/journal/journal.asp)
Dave Pell (http://www.nextdraft.com)
Patrick Phillips (http://www.iwantmedia.com)
Jim Romenesko (http://www.poynter.org/medianews/)
Wil Wheaton (http://www.wilwheaton.net/)

* Favorite Print Author

Janet Evanovich (http://www.evanovich.com)
Diana Gabaldon (http://www.dgabaldon.com)
Neil Gaiman (http://www.neilgaiman.com)
Laurell K. Hamilton (http://www.randomhouse.com/features/lkhamilton/)
Stephen King (http://www.stephenking.com)

* Favorite E-Book Author

Angela Adair-Hoy (http://www.writersweekly.com/)
Charlotte Boyett-Compo (http://www.windlegends.com/)
Max Overton (http://www.geocities.com/maxoverton2000/)
Jeff Strand (http://members.aol.com/jeffstrand)
J.C. Wilder (http://www.jcwilder.com)

* Favorite Print Novel

"American Gods" by Neil Gaiman
(http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0380973650/inscriptions)
"Black House" by Stephen King and Peter Straub
(http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0375504397/inscriptions)
"The Fiery Cross" by Diana Gabaldon
(http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0385315279/inscriptions)
"Seven Up" by Janet Evanovich
(http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0312265840/inscriptions)
"Skipping Christmas" by John Grisham
(http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0385505833/inscriptions)

* Favorite E-Book Novel

"Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary" by Jeff Strand
(http://www.ebookconnections.com/excerpts/graverobbers_wanted.htm)
"The Heretic" by Jason K. Chapman (http://www.happyhacker.org/heretic/)
"Night Terrors" by Drew Williams
(http://www.purepulppress.net/drewilliamsnightterrors.html)
"The Summerland" by T.L. Schaefer
(http://www.atlanticbridge.net/publishing/summerland.htm)
"The Threshing Floor" by E.L. Noel (http://www.isp101.com/~mikenoel/tfsamp.htm)

* Favorite Poet

Maya Angelou (http://www.mayaangelou.com)
Frank Fradella (http://www.frankfradella.com)
Valerie Hardin (http://www.geocities.com/Paris/LeftBank/4266/)
Harvey Stanbrough (http://www.hstanbrough.com/poetry.html)
Neca Stoller (http://members.tripod.com/neca/)

* Favorite Print Publisher

Avon (http://www.harpercollins.com/hc/features/romance/)
Barclay Books (http://www.barclaybooks.com)
Leisure Books (http://www.dorchesterpub.com/)
Simon & Schuster (http://www.simonsays.com)
Tor (http://www.tor.com)

* Favorite E-Book Publisher

Awe-Struck E-Books (http://www.awe-struck.net)
Atlantic Bridge Publishing (http://www.atlanticbridge.net/)
Hard Shell Word Factory (http://www.hardshell.com)
Novel Books (http://www.novelbooksinc.com)
Writers Exchange E-Publishing (http://www.writers-exchange.com/epublishing/)

* Favorite Online Editor

Moira Allen (http://www.writing-world.com/books/moira.html)
C. Hope Clark (http://www.chopeclark.com)
Jenna Glatzer (http://www.authorsden.com/visit/author.asp?AuthorID=988)
B. Lynn Goodwin (http://hometown.aol.com/lgood67334)
Bob Rich (http://www.solutions.net.au/~bobrich/)

* Favorite News Web Site

Ananova (http://www.ananova.com)
CNN (http://www.cnn.com)
Fox News (http://www.foxnews.com)
MSNBC (http://www.msnbc.com)
The New York Times (http://www.nytimes.com)

* Favorite E-Zine or Newsletter

All About Murder (http://www.geocities.com/murderlist/)
Fiction Factor (http://www.fictionfactor.com/)
Funds for Writers (http://www.chopeclark.com/fundsforwriters.htm)
Science Fiction Romance (http://www.sfonline.com)
Writing-World (http://www.writing-world.com)

* Favorite Writing-Related Web Site

Ralan.com (http://www.ralan.com)
Writers Exchange (http://www.writers-exchange.com)
Writer's Market (http://www.writersmarket.com)
Writers Weekly (http://www.writersweekly.com)
Writing-World (http://www.writing-world.com)

--
<< Previous [Home] Next >>
Archives  |  RSS  |  Translations  |  Labels  |  Tumblr

Upcoming Release


Soon in Paperback


My current crusade is to make sure creative people have wills. Read the blog post about it, and see a sample will.